Miraear's Threads

A LotRO Cosmetic History

Wearing a warning

muiriol10h
muiriol10imuiriol10j?w=272

I’ve been wanting to put purple to good effect with my champion, and I love the dragon-scale breastplate. It reminds me of how some seriously venomous creatures use bright & clashing color as a warning to would-be predators. Oddly enough, I put it together just before getting quests to poison The Cook and some warg pups in Nan Curunir.

Head: Ión’s Helmet, purple (quest reward, Moria)
Shoulders: Ornate Pauldrons of the Dunland Swordsman, gold (quest reward, Dunland)
Chest: Ceremonial Dragon-scale Breastplate, purple (skirm camp cosmetic)
Hands: Burnished Dunlending Gauntlets, gold (quest reward, Dunland)
Legs: Woodsman’s Supple Leggings, purple (quest reward, Isengard)
Feet: Berserker’s Boots, gold (heavy armour barter, Moria)

muiriol10gmuiriol10f

While the anniversary festival goes on, the champ is also wearing the black and gold Reveller’s Cloak of the Odogil (festival barter reward):

muiriol10e
4 comments on “Wearing a warning

  1. tsuhelm
    2014.04.22

    Strong purple and very striking…with outfit there will be no hiding in Landscape. Nice sharp screenshots (Why r mine oh so blurry…?)

    Like

    • vyh
      2014.04.22

      Thanks! As far as screenshots, there are a couple of things. When I re-downloaded the game in March, I picked the high resolution download (~20 GB instead of 14); this has made a huge difference; my dark Moria outfit post has screenies from both before and after, so you can see the difference there. Also, when I’m going to take a screenshot, I turn up two graphics settings to max – the overall quality to Ultra High and antialiasing to 8x (antialiasing is, I’m pretty sure, what makes edges smooth instead of jagged). My fps goes down below 10 when I do this, but since I’m going for still screenshots rather than video, it doesn’t matter.

      Like

      • tsuhelm
        2014.04.22

        will try to do this…

        I grab screenies quite casually so are generally not on high settings…But I have also just noticed that the version uploaded to WP and then edited at work loses a lot of quality!

        Need a work around…

        Like

  2. vyh
    2014.04.22

    Loses quality when uploaded? Hmm…maybe it compresses big jpeg images? I take my screenies with the program Fraps after seeing it recommended somewhere, and it uses bitmap files, which I save after editing as png. (Png compression is lossless; file size is usually higher but quality doesn’t degrade like it does with jpeg.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2014.04.21 by in Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , , .
